Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Ruturaj Gaikwad bats out Punjab

Lucknow, November 5

Ruturaj Gaikwad continued his impressive run in the T20 format with a strokeful 80 to power Maharashtra to a seven-wicket win against Punjab in an Elite Group A match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament here today.

Chasing 138 for victory, Gaikwad, who was in red-hot form for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL, smacked eight fours and three sixes in his 54-ball knock to help Maharashtra post their first victory.

The early dismissal of Yash Nahar for a duck did not deter Gaikwad as he batted aggressively to neutralise the Punjab attack which included Arshdeep Singh, Siddarth Kaul, Harpreet Brar and Abhishek Sharma. Gaikwad, who reached his 50 in 36 balls, hit leg-spinner Mayank Markande for a big six and then hoisted Brar for another one. He also played some elegant shots on either side of the wicket.

Earlier, Shubman Gill stroked his way to 44 off 39 balls (3 fours, 1 six) but the other Punjab batters failed to get going. The innings appeared to be struggling for momentum before Gurkeerat Singh Mann (41 off 32 balls) helped them reach 137.

For Maharashtra, left-arm medium-pacer Divyang Himganekar was the best bowler with 2/17 while Ashay Palkar took 2/30.

Brief scores

Punjab 137/6 (Gill 44, Mann 41; Himganekar 2/17); Maharashtra 138/3 in 17.3 overs (Gaikwad 80)

Himachal Pradesh 144/8 (Gangta 32; Rana 26; Monu Kumar 3/31); Jharkhand 137/9 (Anukul Roy 39; Ankush Bedi 2/17, Rishi Dhawan 2/38)

Andhra 179/4 (Ashwin Hebber 103*; Harshal Patel 2/45); Haryana 180/4 (Rana 52, Tewatia 46*; Uddaraju Varma 2/40)

Haryana, Himachal win

Vadodara: In a Group C match here, Himachal Pradesh pipped Jharkhand by seven runs as Ankush Bedi finished with top figures of 2/17 off four overs. Chasing 145 for victory, Jharkhand were restricted to 137/9 in 20 overs as they lost three wickets in final nine balls of the innings. Nikhil Gangta top-scored for Himachal with 32 off 27 balls.

In another Group C match, Haryana beat Andhra Pradesh by six wickets as an unbeaten 88-run partnership off only 44 balls between Shivam Chauhan (45 off 27 balls ) and Rahul Tewatia (46 off 25) made the chase of 180 look easy. Himanshu Rana top-scored with 52 off 30 balls. Earlier, Ashwin Hebber had smashed an unbeaten 103 off 53 balls to take Andhra to 179/4. — Agencies

Courtesy: Tribune India

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

Top Post Ad