At 15,226 ft, Tashigong highest polling station

Tribune News Service

Shimla, October 14

The highest polling station will be set up at 15,226 feet in Tashigong village, falling in the tribal district of Lahaul Spiti, which forms part of Mandi Lok Sabha seat, going to by-poll on October 30.

Polling centres 2,484

First time voters (18-19 age group) 38,305

Model polling stations 36

Polling stations handled by women 40

Number of polling centres manned

by differently abled staff 3

Persons with disability to cast vote 18,054

Details of poll arrangements for Mandi and three Assembly segments of Arki, Fatehpur and Jubbal-Kotkhai were shared by C Palrasu, Chief Electoral Officer at a press conference here today. He said all arrangements had been made to ensure free, fair and peaceful polling. A total of 2,484 polling centres will be set up for the four by-polls, including 2,113 in Mandi.

He said voters in the Shakti polling centre in Banjar segment of Kullu district will be able to cast their vote after traversing a distance of 24 kms in the by-polls for the Mandi Lok Sabha segment where polling will be held on October 30.

The Adhal polling station will be located at a height of 8,500 feet in Jubbal-Kotkhia segment for the October 30 by-poll. The polling station at the lowest height of 600 feet will be at Bari in Sarkaghat assembly segment, which is part of Mandi parliamentary seat.

A total of 38,305 first time voters in the 18-19 age group will cast their vote which includes 32,077 in Mandi Lok Sabha seat. Voters in Kutheda polling centre in Fathepur will have to cover 6 kms to reach the polling centre. There are a total of 12,99,756 voters in Mandi, 87,222 in Fatehpur, 92,609 in Solan and 70,965 in Jubbal-Kotkhai.

Electronic voting machines (EVM) will be used for the polling on October 30 at all the four places. There will be a total of 2,365 polling centres and 3,120 VVPAT machines for the Mandi by-poll and a total of 431 polling centres and 647 VVPAT machines for the three Assembly elections.

There will be a total of 36 model polling stations besides 40 polling stations to be handled exclusively by women polling staff in Mandi Lok Sabha and three Assembly segments. There will be three polling centres at Rampur, Saraswatinagar and Barot which will be manned by differently abled polling staff. A total of 18,054 persons with disability will cast their vote in these by-polls.

The Election Committee has kept 11 identification modes which includes PAN card, Adhaar, driving license, passport, MNREGA job card, bank pass book and pension documents with photograph. There will be use of photo electoral rolls and teams have been constituted to monitor the election expenditure.

Courtesy: Tribune News Service

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

Top Post Ad