12.9L voters hold key for Mandi seat

Tribune News Service

Mandi, October 28

Returning Officer-cum-Deputy Commissioner Arindam Chaudhary said the administration has completed all the preparations for conducting free, fair and peaceful elections for Mandi Lok Sabha seat. Voting will be held on October 30 from 8 am to 6 pm. The votes will be counted on November 2.

The returning officer said that Mandi parliamentary segment comprises 17 Assembly constituencies of six districts namely Mandi, Kullu, Lahaul and Spiti, Kinnaur, Chamba and Shimla. These assembly constituencies are Sadar, Balh, Sundernagar, Nachan, Darang, Sarkaghat, Seraj, Jogindernagar, Karsog, Kullu Sadar, Banjar, Ani, Manali, Lahaul Spiti, Kinnaur, Bharmour and Rampur.

He said that there are total 12,99,756 voters in Mandi parliamentary constituency. Of these, 6,38,756 are female voters and 6,47,619 are male. The number of service voters is 13,374. There are two emigrant electors living abroad. Apart from this, there are five voters of third gender.

"In this parliamentary constituency, two polling stations would be operated by women personnel in each Assembly constituency. Apart from this, two model polling stations will be set up in each Assembly constituency. Webcasting will be done in 50 per cent of the polling stations in each Assembly constituency," he remarked.

"Around 19,000 employees have been deployed on election duty. Today polling parties have sent toward their election duty places," he added

"In view of the elections and counting of votes, there will be a ban on the sale and distribution of liquor in hotels, dhabas, shops or other private and public places in entire parliamentary constituency. This restriction will be in force from 48 hours before the polling till the completion of the voting and counting of votes. Legal action will be taken for disobeying the orders under the notification," he said.

Courtesy: Tribune News Service

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

Top Post Ad